Cart 0
Blind Willie McTell "Atlanta Twelve String" LP

Blind Willie McTell "Atlanta Twelve String" LP


Side A: Kill It Kid, The Razor Ball, Little Delia, Broke Down Engine Blues, Dying Crapshooter's Blues, Pinetop's Boogie Woogie, Blues Around Midnight, Last Dime Blues

Side B: On The Cooling Board, Motherless Children Have a Hard Time, I Got To Cross The River Jordan, You Got To Die, Ain't It Grand To Live a Christian, Pearly Gates, Soon This Morning

'In 1949, a brief flurry of interest in old-timey country blues resulted in this 15-song session by Blind Willie McTell for the newly formed Atlantic Records. Only two songs, "Kill It Kid" and "Broke Down Engine Blues," were ever issued on a failed single, and the session was forgotten until almost 20 years later. McTell is mostly solo here, vividly captured on acoustic 12-string (his sometime partner Curley Weaver may have been present on some tracks), and in excellent form. The playing and the repertory are representative of McTell as he was at this point in his career, a blues veteran rolling through his paces without skipping a beat and quietly electrifying the listener." - Label



More from this collection